Learning PL/SQL

Now that I am officially working as an intern with the MIS crew at Plymouth State University, I’m really getting my hands dirty. My job lately has been to update our outdated ECommerce code. This has involved taking top-down code and making a class based system with functions out of it. Also, I have had to learn a “new” language. (Actually, it’s kind of outdated) The language is PL/SQL, and is basically SQL with logic blocks. Useful, but messy, and not easy to follow all the time. My latest task has been to convert that top-down program into PHP, and then to break it apart once more to append to the class I had previously constructed. The good news is that the next guy will have an easy time if there are ever any problems with this code… The bad news is that I’m having no fun with it now XP. Oh well, I can at least say I’m learning a lot. If there are any questions about details or knowledge that I may have picked up in this project, comment, and I’ll respond.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

