Hill’s Top BBQ

This past Saturday, I went home to visit family, and my Dad determined that we should go out to grab some dinner. We ended up going to what is clearly his new favorite place to eat: Hill’s Top BBQ in Bartlett, NH. It’s on the right off of Rt. 302 if you are on your way from Conway Village towards the turn for Story Land.

Entering the parking lot, all you can smell is the delicious aroma of smoked food. That’s good because it’s been smoking all day. Your mouth should start watering immediately. Going inside, its a fairly small place with a dining room, and an 8 person bar (tops). The staff, and owner are all extremely nice, and friendly in a rare way. My Dad knows all of the staff, but they treat new comers with the same welcoming and courteous manner as he gets. They’re just good people. Down to the food. Our meal started off with a drink. I got my “yuppie beer”, a Shipyard Pumpkinhead, and my Dad got his standard Bud Light. This was followed by friendly conversation from our waitress who is one of the best I’ve ever seen.

To start the meal, we got an appetizer sampler. This was an amazing assortment, with fried green beans, onion rings, mozzarella stix, buffalo wings, homemade maple cornbread, served with bleu cheese, and BBQ ranch dressings. A perfect start to the meal, and dangerously filling for my Dad, stepmom, and I.

On to the main course. I grabbed my favorite standby: pulled pork with coleslaw and fries. I should mention that this is some special Pulled Pork. It is not covered in BBQ sauce. Actually, it isn’t served with any BBQ sauce on it at all. On the table is a six pack of the restaurants different homemade BBQ sauces. Their all great, but my favorite is definitely the smoky. THe pulled pork was tender, full of flavor, and falling apart. In other words, it was perfect.

My Dad, the brave soul decided to get the pick 3 platter with brisket, pulled pork, and ribs. This was a stack of meat. His favorite is the brisket, and he swears by it. I was fortunate enough to try the ribs off his plate. I know what I’m getting when I go back. Like everything, they didn’t have any sauce on them, and as I scarfed them down, it never even occured to me that they should. They were full of a rich smoky taste that left me wondering where they had gone. A definite must have.

My Stepmom went after the Prime Rib. It comes in a King, and smaller Queen size which she got. Still, that is a big hunk’o’beef. I managed to snag a bite, and it was so full of flavor: smoky and beefy in a perfect balance.

What does all this add up to: this is the place to go if you’re up in the Bartlett/Glen area of New Hampshire. The foods great, and the service is better. The one warning is to look out for crowds because this place is HOT!!
    • domenic Pecce
    • December 28th, 2009

    i went ther also i have never commented on a resteraunt however the smoked prime rib is the best i have ever had, my wife ordered the ribs and i had no problem finishing them for her, they where great just the way they were but i also reccomend the hot or sweet sauce. i will be back

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

