The Soda Addiction

I would like to think that I have been fairly successful in my attempt at dieting. I’ve reached my goal weight, and am not having much difficulty maintaining it. Now that I’m here I’m trying to be healthy while being healthy. As cryptic as that sounds, it is the truth.

Exhibit A is my love of soda. I don’t drink it for the caffeine, I don’t drink it for any one reason that I can put my finger on, but like any addiction, it is not so easy to give up. I went from regular soda to diet for my weight loss purposes with no trouble. More recently, I even went to caffeine free soda to reduce my dependency on the wake-me-up juice. My next logical step was to give up soda entirely due to the dreaded Aspartame found in most diet soda’s. I’m not an expert so I won’t preach about how bad that ingredient is for you, but a Google search lays it out pretty clearly: it’s no good, and reduces metabolism.

With that in mind, I did not buy any soda at the grocery store on Sunday…Monday morning I was looking into diet soda’s without aspartame. To my surprise, I found some good alternatives for someone with my unique set of requirements.

So, my criteria:

  • No Calories (or negligable amount)
  • No Caffeine
  • No Aspartame (this makes it hard)

The Solution was to find sodas sweetened with Splenda instead. I came up with a few options. For those of you who need our name brand soda, Pepsi makes Pepsi One, a one calorie soda sweetened with Splenda. Coke also has a Splenda sweetened soda that is simply a version of Diet Coke. For those not tied to a name brand, and who might like to save some cash, there are two other brands which have a big selection, and options that satisfy my no caffiene goal. They are Diet Rite, and Waist Watcher’s. I’m currently drinking the Waist Watcher’s variety. Their Citrus Frost isn’t bad, kind of like a weak Sprite Zero, but their Orange Soda is easily as good as Diet Sunkist.

Most people would probably say at this point “Why even bother?”. To them, I say more power to you if you can give up soda at the drop of a hat. I admit that I’m addicted to it, and am working to get past my addiction. This is just another step, and I’m happy with myself for at least trying. That’s part of dieting, and being healthy; learning to take small steps towards a goal, and having the will to do your best. It’s all you can do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

