How Time and Dates are Shown in WordPress

For a while now, something had been bothering me about my blog. The dates were being displayed in day/month/year format (29/1/10), and the times were all in military (13:25). This isn’t a big deal, but it bothered me. Well when I set the blog up, I had set it the way I wanted to using the settings section of my WordPress Admin screen. According to it, I should have been seeing January 29, 2010 1:25 pm, but with this particular theme, it stubbornly would remain the same.

I did a little digging through the Appearance Editor, and found where the dates and times were displayed in the templates. It looked as if a function the_time() was being called, and passed in the two following formats: the_time(‘d/m/y’) and the_time(‘G:i’). It was time for Google to come to the rescue. A nice little search for php + the_time brought me to the WordPress documentation for what was apparently a template tag function. From here I found how to manually set the time and date the way I wanted, or return the default control back to the WordPress settings page that I had been frustrated at before. If you might be having the same issue, check the documentation out here. Good luck, and happy blogging!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

