Mixing it Up: Shaolin Kempo

Don’t worry folks, I haven’t gotten tired of running yet! Actually, I’m still on my running regimen, putting in about 4.2 miles in 32 minutes 6 days a week. (That number will be a little less precise with the nice weather coming in, and me being outside) Still, it helps to grow your workout so that you can constantly be learning something new, and keep yourself interested.

With that in mind, I decided to try something that I have always wanted to do since I was a little kid: study martial arts. I figure that I can now afford it, get there, and make the time to enjoy it. (Being an adult is great *corny thumbs up*)

After finding what looked like the right place for me location-wise, I started classes at Tim Barchard’s Professional Martial Arts Academy. I’m now on my fourth week there, and still can’t get enough. What I’m learning is still considered “basic”, but it is one heck of a workout. It’s never the same twice, and I always leave in a sweaty, smiling daze.

The point here is that I understand that running is not for everyone. It works for me, but even I like to mix it up once in a  while with something new. Exercise in any form is the best thing for you, and you simply need to find the kind that appeals to you. Give the Professional Martial Arts Academy a try if you’re in the Derry/Manchester area, or find another martial arts school near you. You won’t regret it. (Well, you might when you see how sore you are the next morning, but keep at it!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

