A New Way to Cook Sweet Potato

Shredded Sweet PotatosSo I love sweet potatoes. I like them as Fries. I like them as chips. I like them baked. I like them mashed. That’s okay because these spuds are uber healthy. One average sized sweet potato is only 3 points for Weight Watchers.

Now there are several ways to cook these, and I usually bake them as “chips” in the oven (400 degrees for 35 min). Still, that gets  a little old after a while, and I need to get created. Well, you see the above picture correctly. This past Friday, I tried something new, running my sweet potato through a cheese grater. With that I had a typical breakfast ingredient with a twist.

For cooking these, I went simple. I heated up a fry pan to a good high temperature, and simply cooked the potatoes with salt, pepper, and garlic powder….and lots of calorie free cook spray. These things love to stick, and since I don’t use butter, the cook spray is a savior in copious amounts. It’ll probably catch up with me someday, but so will everything (the world gives you cancer).

Anywho, to mix up your sweet potato eating, and continue to keep it healthy, try these shredded sweet potatoes out. And, if you have some extra points, add some sugar free maple syrup as it’s the perfect companion to sweet potato.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

