What’s New: Ben & Jerry’s Flourless Chocolate Cake

So, continuing with the weekly theme items, I’m also adding a what’s new post each week. Since I usually try to eat something new and different each week, this should be a good way to share my discoveries.

Well, I love Ice Cream. I think we’ve covered that in detail already here. This past week, I had a hankering for Ben & Jerry’s Cinnamon Buns ice cream. This is probably my favorite flavor, but I digress. While making the trip to the store to get my tasty treat, I came across something new: Ben & Jerry’s Flourless Chocolate Cake ice cream.  Thanks to the heckling of my roommate, I bought some. Well, I have to say that when they say that this ice cream is chocolatey, they are not kidding. Looking at the open container on the right doesn’t do it justice. These photos are courtesy of the blog On Second Scoop, but clearly he got a much lighter pint than I did.

When I opened this pint of ice cream, I could SMELL the chocolate. I don’t know if you know, but you don’t usually smell ice cream. That, and it was a couple shades darker with chocolate doom. I took one spoon-full…ate it…and put the pint back into the freezer.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate, but this was just too much for me. It wasn’t bad, but eating much more than a spoon-full would be tempting fate. For someone who eats a pint of Ben & Jerry’s at a time, that may be a good thing, but for now, I’ll pass on the cake thank you.  Now, if you think you have a sweet tooth, by all means give this a try. See if this can quench your thirst for chocolate. I think it will, but if you think differently, please feel free to share it back here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

