What’s New: Ben & Jerrry’s Oatmeal Cookie Chunk

Oh Ben & Jerry’s, how I love thee. I don’t know what it is, but I have a hard time walking away from a weekend without eating at least on pint of your ice cream.

So, for some time now, I’ve seen this Oatmeal Cookie Chunk ice cream from Ben & Jerry’s, and thought that it would be the perfect flavor for my buddy Kyle as he is an oatmeal cookie nut by choice. As it happened, I was back home, and after a depressing freezer isle in the local Hannaford’s, I found myself at the local Shaws. Well, I didn’t see some of my favorite Everything But The… ice cream, so I figured I’d give this a try.

Returning home with my treasure, I was able to sit and enjoy it while catching up with my grandmother. Talk about a cozy, and happy environment to be enjoying a treat! Anyways, on to the ice cream.

The flavor is described as having a “Sweet Cream Cinnamon Ice Cream” base, and they are not kidding. I actually think this is the same base ice cream that they use in their Cinnamon Buns flavor which is another boat load of win in my ice cream highlight real. It really is a great flavor, but may be on the sweet side if you like a simpler flavor. Still, if you like the Cinnamon Buns flavor, we’re on the right track.

Besides the base cream, the mix-ins are pretty simple, advertised as ‘Chunks of Oatmeal Cookies and Fudge”. Well, the fudge is more like small chips. Not even chunks of chocolate, but more like really fine pieces. I think they’re there for flavor more than mouth feel. The cookie on the other hand was something else. I was worried that I might end up with little dots of cookie, or nibbles. Boy was I wrong. Buried in this pint were GOBS of oatmeal cookie. It really felt like someone had thrown a ton of oatmeal cookies in here just for me. We’re talking spoonfuls that were 50/50 cookie, and ice cream here. For someone like me who’s all about the mix-ins, I was in heaven.

So, this flavor is definitely another winner in my Ben & Jerry’s book (as if they could be anything else). I’d say that depending if your in the mood for smooth, or chunky ice cream, this could be your partner to the Cinnamon Bun flavor. They really are very similar. Still if you can’t make up your mind between cookies and ice cream, this is the perfect solution.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

