What’s for Dinner: Grilled Zucchini and Pasta Medley

So this week has been a little different in the dinner department. I’m not sure why, but my dojo is closed all this week, so no class. What does this mean? It means I get to cook five meals this week instead of three.

So, what does one do when faced with options? See what’s on sale! And this week, fresh zucchini and summer squash were on sale. There isn’t much that’s better in the way of fresh summer ingredients than that. So, to mix it up, I decided to try grilling my veggie’s, an serving them with dill pasta and chicken medley.

To make the recipe a bit more interested, I found Maple Grove Farms Sugar Free Balsamic Vinaigrette, a great 0 calorie cooking aid. It packs a ton of flavor to the point where I like to cook with it a bit more than slapping it on a salad.

Skimming over the pasta, as it was the standard (cook chicken and pasta, add pasta to chicken, add dill, cook in pan),  we’ll get into how I prepared the zucchini and summer squash. I began by slicing them at an angle, creating what is more of an oblong disk than the standard spear, or cucumber style cut. This was to expose more flesh, and angle the seeded centers so that they wouldn’t soften too much, and fall apart while cooking. Next, I threw my veggie’s into a bowl, and added some salt, pepper, garlic, and my balsamic, hand tossing it all together lightly.

While I was preparing this, I had started to preheat my pan. I wanted it up to a good high heat so that I could produce some nice dark grill marks, and at the same time keep some firmness to the veg while it cooked. Once my pan was hot, and the veggie’s had marinated a little, on they went. I had thrown down a little cooking spray to keep them from sticking too bad. After a couple minutes, I flipped them over, and there were those gorgeous grill marks that make a food stand out. Same on the other side, and I was off eating dinner.

This was incredibly easy, and tasted amazing. If you’re looking for a fresh food, and a fun and easy way to cook it, try grilled zucchini and summer squash. Oh, and yes, for once I actually provided my own picture. I’ll try to be better about that when I talk about my cooking. Helps when you can see what I’m talking about. Oh, and before I forget! Zucchini and summer squash: zero points baby!!!

  1. September 13th, 2010

Leave a Reply

