Because it’s Tuesday: Shaped Cake Pans

So this past weekend, I had the pleasure of hosting a miniature bachelorette party at my apartment. Yeah, you heard me right, I said bachelorette party. Let’s keep moving before we get too bogged down with the logistics of the occasion. Let’s just skip to the point: I was asked to make a cake for the event, and my friend the maid of honor was gracious enough to give me some pans for the process.

Now, first here are some facts to mull over. First, the pans came from Spencer’s. Second, we like to mess with the bride to be as much as we can since she has a mild discomfort with male anatomy. Third, well I was just happy to bake something for now reason that I can think of.

Well, if you haven’t figured out what shape of cake I was making, well, then, please move along. You will probably either blush into a beet, or be offended if you keep guessing. Just to keep things PG here I decided to through up another awesome shaped cake pan. Might have found something I need to make for my roommate at sometime.

So what did I take away from this experience?

  1. Flesh tone can be created using vanilla frosting, and mixing in a little chocolate frosting at a time.
  2. Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake mix comes out pretty delicious, but slightly awkward as the cake-y center of man bits.
  3. Using a vegetable peeler on a dark chocolate Hershey’s bar makes something that looks hair-like.

Yeah, bet you weren’t expecting THAT on a Tuesday. Still, what kind of oddly shaped cakes have you ever made or eaten?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

