What’s New: Ben & Jerry’s Half Baked Froyo

So, this past week, there has been an amazing 2 for 1 sale running at Shaw’s Supermarkets on pints of Ben and Jerry’s. It’s not a huge sale as their prices on the ice cream run a bit higher than other stores at $3.99, but still, with the amount of Ben and Jerry’s that get’s eaten at my apartment, it was a good plan to take advantage of the minor savings.

So, besides grabbing some of my favorite flavors, I decided to give a healthier alternative a try. Now, most Ben and Jerry’s flavors are diet busters when you consider how likely I am to bust though an entire pint in a  sitting without breaking a sweat.

Remembering that I don’t mind Stonyfield Farms Organic Frozen Yogurt, I figured that I’d give Half Baked Froyo a try, as it’s one of their normal flavors that is usually delicious. The pint weighs in a bit heavier than my After Dark Chocolate from Stonyfield at 15 points. Still, compared to any normal offering from Ben and Jerry’s, this is a drop in the point bucket. It may put me over my points in a day, but won’t skyrocket me into the next county.

Well, with the nutrition out of the way, how was the dessert? Well, I guess it can be summed up by saying that for the first time ever, I threw away some ice cream. The flavor was very off, and I mean more off than your average frozen yogurt. Still, this wasn’t what bothered me the most. It was the texture. The entire pint was mealy. This was compounded by the fact that the cookie dough, and brownie were a different density of meely-ness than the bad frozen yogurt. I tried to give it a chance, thinking maybe it was  a bit freezer burnt, but the entire pint was like this as I dug through it.

Final verdict, sooo not worth it. I’d rather just enjoy the calorie bomb that is the normal, and amazing Ben and Jerry’s ice cream. Let’s hope that their froyo and I never cross paths again.

    • TC
    • February 9th, 2011

    You are so far off! This is a great tasting icecream that I buy at least once or twice a week.

      • Porter
      • February 9th, 2011

      I have no problem with the normal half-baked flavor, but the texture on this really got to me. Do you know any creamier? froyos

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

