Because it’s Tuesday: Taoaster vs. Toaster Oven

It’s a feud as old as time. A debate that can turn friends and family against one another. A controversy that refuses to find middle ground…well, apparently except with the oddity to the left that I found at Walmart, but that’s not the point. The point is, everyone has an opinion on which is better to take up space on the kitchen counter: a toaster, or a toaster oven.

I’m firmly in the toaster camp at the moment. Over  a summer living up at college, one of my roommates had a toaster oven. For the entire break, I burned my finger’s on the stupid thing trying to get my toast out in the morning. Now I can already hear the cries about using tongs, and this, that, and the other thing, but in the morning, I like things simple. I shouldn’t have to fear burning. Moving past that, the thing never toasted my bagels, bread, or English muffins evenly.

When it comes down to it, I feel that a toaster oven can be practical. It is great for things like bagel bites, and other such frozen fair. Where it fails is the actual toast department. So, given my druthers, I’ll pick a toaster everytime, and just use a normal oven otherwise.

Still, that’s just my opinion. Where do other people weigh in on this most controversial of debates?

  1. We looked at a number of ovens and wanted something that did the basic things and didn’t take up too much space. No convection (we have a convection oven) and no digital – its just a basic appliance. We looked at the B&D 240 but this just seemed too basic and too flimsy. Then we saw this one. It has all the basics, it’s a good, small size and its silver / black which matches our kitchen. It has 3 controls (as compared to the basic model w/ 2) making it easy to select temp, function and time. The handle is securely attached to the glass door -the metal ends wrap around the glass so it won’t fall off (a complaint about other ovens).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

