What’s New: Ben & Jerry’s Fossil Fuel

Oh Ben & Jerry’s, is it sad that I’m  running out of your flavors to try? The simple answer is that you’ll have to start making up some more for me. Still, for now there are enough to keep me occupied.

Recently, I decided to try an older flavor that I found in a gas station: Fossil Fuel. Now I don’t know what’s more ironic here; that I found this in a place that sells fuel, or that I am concerned that it might actually have been a fossil with how old the ice cream tasted.

To start at the beginning, gas station pints can be like a game of roulette. People open, and stare, and contemplate the ice cream case in a gas station countless times a day. What happens as a result? Repeated freezer burn. That’s the only reason I can come up with for the consistency of this ice cream, and although I’m reviewing it now, I’ll have to try this flavor again to get a better impression.

So, Fossil Fuel is supposed to be a sweet cream ice cream with chocolate cookie pieces, fudge dinosaurs, and a fudge swirl. The stock image from Ben and Jerry’s site above makes this look pretty darn tempting. What I got was a grainy mess. There was no distinguishing flavor, only the periodic crunch of dinosaurs. I’ll have to come back to this flavor becasue I refuse to believe that my heros of ice cream could ever make a flavor so bad. Oh, and even the sweet cream ice cream tasted off. I guess I should just be thankful that I didn’t get ill.

CURSE YOU GAS STATION ICE CREAM!!!

  1. Definitely try it again! I haven’t had this flavor in awhile, but I remember loving it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

