What’s New: Ben & Jerry’s Snickerdoodle Cookie

Nothing makes me stop more quickly in a grocery store than seeing the label “New”, or “Limited Edition” on a pint of Ben & Jerry’s. Now, for this to happen in a gas station is A: surprising, and B: slightly embarrassing when a cute girl sees you do it. Still, there’s not much to do, but shrug it off because it’s not like you can take it back.

This was the scenario that happened recently in a Circle K gas station when my friends and I were out on a Chinese food run. We had swung into the station to grab something sweet to follow up our takeout meal with, and low-and-behold if there wasn’t this new flavor in a gas station.

Well, who am I to deny fate. I grabbed the pint of Ben & Jerry’s new Snickerdoodle Cookie ice cream, and went on my merry way. Returning home, we enjoyed our dinner, and later on, I cracked open this pint to see what I had found for myself.

The flavor is described as “Buttery Ice Cream Loaded with Snickerdoodle Cookies”. What I saw when I opened the pint was a caramel colored ice cream, with hints of what might be cookie, and also a big chunk missing that meant a bad freezing process on my pint. Oh well, no use crying over ice cream that wasn’t there. I dug into the pint, and my hunch was confirmed. It seems to be the same base used in Ben & Jerry’s Cinnamon Bun, and Oatmeal Cookie Chunk ice creams. Going through the pint did turn up some noteworthy chunks of snickerdoodle cookie in true Ben & Jerry fashion. Still, I found this pint lacking.

You see, both of the previous flavors bring more to the table than this one. Cinnamon Buns has that amazing cinnamon swirl with the bun dough, and Oatmeal has a better quality cookie along with fudge. This flavor wasn’t bad, but it still plays second fiddle to the two other flavors. I’d probably pick them over this any day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

