Restraunt Review: Five Guys Burgers and Fries

So, from several different sources now, I have heard about the supposed marvel that is Five Guys Burgers and Fries. Friends at work have told me that I’ve got to try it, and whenever I drive by one with someone in the car, they always seem to do the “ooh, five guys”. Well, I recently managed to go their with some friends, and try the place out.

Walking in, I was greeted by a bustling restaurant that reminded me of a cross between a Burger King, and  a county fair food stand. Still there were free peanuts offered in line while you waited to order, so I couldn’t complain too much. Walking up, I made my order of a bacon cheeseburger with BBQ sauce, and onions, and an order of regular fries. So, this ran me about $10, so I was a little put off to start because I didn’t even order a drink, and I was tipping what I like to spend on a fast food lunch.

Well, the turnaround on the meal was slightly longer than your average fast food place, but better then a sit down.  I got my order, and we retreated to an open table outside. The first thing I noticed was the fries. They really were delicious, and they weren’t skimpy with them either.  A regular order could have easily been split between two people to help with the cost. They were delicious too, done in the style of skin on fresh fries. Definitely one of my favorite incarnations of potato.

Moving on to the burger. It was a sloppy griddle double pattied burger. It tasted decent, but was at the same time, nothing special. It fell in between a fast food offering, and a chain restaurant. Not bad, but for what I payed, I was a little disappointed. About half way into the burger I realized something was wrong, something was missing. Where was my bacon!? I looked on the receipt, and yup, there it was. Looking back at my burger, it was clear it was forgotten. I was bummed. It had cost extra, but it was too late, and too busy for me to try and remedy the situation. Still, I finished the burger, and was satisfied.

So, overall, I’m not a big fan of five guys. If I want a burger, I’d rather have a real burger. I usually order things like  Tendercrisp at fast food places anyways, reserving my red meat to be eaten in a slightly higher caliber. Still, I wouldn’t turn down some five guys fries if they were offered. That, to me, was the best this place had to offer. So, I give Five Guys Burgers and Fries a “Meh, not too bad”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

