What’s New: Ben & Jerry’s Omni-Review

So, originally I had started each of these as an individual post, but due to some backlog, I decided to group them together. So, that said, welcome to the first Ben & Jerry;s Omni-Review where my over-abundant love of ice cream is even more pronounced.

So to start, I tried a flavor that was suggested by my roommate, the great lover of all things peanut butter. Honestly, I was disappointed in Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter Cup. It really is a lightly peanut butter flavored ice cream with honking chunks (where talking pretty much whole) peanut butter cups. The problem is, that’s all it is. There was just too much peanut butter even if no individual part was overwhelming. The flavor needs to be broken up a little with maybe a chocolate swirl, or a chocolate based ice cream with a heavy peanut butter swirl.

So next up, we have a return to a classic combo from my childhood: Mint Chocolate Cookie. Now this flavor works for me. It’s been a long time since I really enjoyed a flavor, but there’s something about mint ice cream that just lets me sit back and savor it. The ice cream is a peppermint base, and has been loaded with whole Oreo-type cookies that have softened slightly, but still provide a chewy contrast to the stark minty ice cream.

Really, the flavor reminds me deeply of my grandmother’s homemade grasshopper pie. It will definitely require a return trip as I find the flavor refreshing and delicious.

Now for the scary entry on the list. I have always hesitated when faced with trying Ben & Jerry’s Chubby Hubby ice cream. For some reason, I felt that there was too much going on, and I was slightly wary of it’s “Malt Vanilla” base.

Stepping back, the flavor is described as “Fudge Covered Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels in Vanilla Malt Ice Cream with Fudge and Peanut Butter”. Now that’s a mouthful. Don’t get me wrong, I love flavors like New York Super Fudge Chunk, and Everything But the…, but I was still slightly afraid of this flavor. I mean, I love chocolate covered pretzels (although I’m not a fan of the new pretzel M&Ms), and I’m always a fan of a good swirl, so I wasn’t sure what kept me away from this flavor.

Well, it’s definitely on my list to buy again. It has everything I wanted out of the Peanut Butter Cup ice cream, but none of the monotony. I was right, a peanut butter swirl is a much better way to infuse flavor that an actual peanut butter ice cream. The salty pretzels in the ice cream enhance the flavor for a much more savory ice cream than some of the other flavors. Still, beware this flavor because it is almost too savory, and even I had trouble polishing off the pint. It’s a good flavor, but a rare occasion one.

So that wraps up the omni-review. That catches me up on ice cream which only can mean one thing: I need to go buy more. Here’s to seasonal fall flavors because I could really rock a pumpkin or gingerbread flavor if they turned up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

