Limited Edition: Pumpkin Pie Pop-Tarts

Ah, the season continues as the leaves start to change color, and the temperature steadily drops. Shorts turn into pants, and sweatshirts become part of my daily attire.

As much as I love the climate of the fall season, I also am a huge fan of the onslaught of seasonal treats, and goodies that storm the store shelves. Now, I’m a huge pumpkin fan, and when I read about these, I knew I needed to find them, and give them a try for myself.

These, are Kellogg’s Pumpkin Pie Pop-Tarts. It took a little digging, but I was able to find these at my local Target in the Halloween section. “Sadly”, they only com in the 12 pack.

So, digging into them, what are they like? Well, it really is like a pumpkin pie. Now we’re not talking your grandmother’s homemade pumpkin pie with buttery flaky crust, and velvety pie filling. This is still a pop-tart after all. Still, biting into the pastry, you really do come away with an honest to goodness pumpkin pie flavor. The crust is a little dry, but that happens with a pop-tart no matter what. The filling is where it’s at, filling your taste buds with that pumpkin and spice flavor that makes you think of breezy days, and falling leaves.

So, what am I saying? If you see these, and like pop-tarts and pumpkin pie, grab them. It’s a nice change from the  standard brown sugar pop-tart that I think everyone has tried at least once. I tried mine sans-toaster, as I usually don’t have hot pumpkin pie. My final thought on this would probably be that it was a cool thing to try, and I enjoyed it, but that I’m good with it past that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

