Limited Edition: Gingerbread Pop-Tarts

Okay, so I swear I’m not on some creepy Pop-Tarts related fix. I think it’s just been their push for the seasonal treats that has caught my eye. For me, it was the Pumpkin Pie Pop-Tarts, but for my roommate, it was these: Kellogg’s Limited Edition Gingerbread Pop-Tarts.

So I’m going to jump straight into my thoughts on this. First off, the package advertises soft and chewy. Okay, so I went to try my first one of these sans toaster like always. Nope, not soft. Definitely get more of a graham cracker vibe from this particular pop-tart. Still, the gingerbread flavor is decent if not mild. The frosting in the middle is different, more like a glaze than the standard pop-tart paste. Overall, I was pretty meh about these, and happily left them to my roommate.

Well, he continued with these pop-tarts, and found that they are a whole new animal when toasted. So, I had to try them again. Oh boy was he right. I didn’t get a chewy feeling from the pop-tart after toasting, but with the frosting all warm and gooey, these pop-tarts were in their natural form. Soooo much better.

Overall, these are another novelty item. They’re fun to try for the season, but past that they’re really just another pop-tart. I won’t turn one down, but you won’t see me go out of my way for them again. Still, if you LOVE gingerbread, you might be obligated to give them a shot. As a final note, I’d say these are much more a snack than a breakfast, although that goes for almost everything in the pop-tart family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

