Review: Ben & Jerry’s Exclusive Flavor Carrot Cake

Okay, so this review sadly doesn’t have a picture, or even a link to a section of Ben & Jerry’s describing this amazing flavor. Also, I’m in the process of moving, so that nixed much of my ability to take some shots of what this flavor looks like. Anyways, the other night I swung by my local Wal-Mart to pick up some odds and ends. Like always, I just happened to walk by the ice cream isle. And what pray tell did I see? Not one, but two flavors of Ben & Jerry’s that I’d never seen before.

That’s right folks, two unprecedented B&J flavors. Well of course they were in basket before I could say Limited Edition. The two flavors I found were Carrot Cake, and Pumpkin Cheesecake. The Pumpkin Cheesecake review will come down the road in a little bit because I needed to have me some Carrot Cake.

This flavor is described as a “Caramel Ice Cream with Carrot Cake Chunks, and a Cream Cheese Frosting Swirl”. Now that, like carrot cake itself, is an interesting flavor profile. So what was it actually like. Opening the pint, the first scent that hit my was the cream cheese frosting. It was actually pretty powerful, kind of like when you open a prepackaged can of the Duncan Hines frosting. Still, I would not be deterred by a strong scent alone.

Digging into the ice cream, I found that it was mild in the caramel flavor. I was kind of put off with my first scoop because of how mellow that first bite actually was. Caramel is good, but I wouldn’t be blown away by a straight tasting of it. Then I hit that classic B&J mix. I got a bit with the swirl (which was kind of hard to spot being colorblind, and a chunk of carrot cake. Wow. The frosting swirl is actually a bit thinner than some of the other swirls I’ve seen in B&J’s ice cream, but here with its potency, it works well. Now add to that the carrot cake chunks. This is moist, real, delicious carrot cake. We’re talking Grandma’s homemade level of good here people. It’s with the trifecta of components here that I can really appreciate the subtle caramel ice cream now.

Okay, enough ranting. Needless to say, this is a great flavor profile from Ben & Jerry’s. It just captures what to me is a classic flavor of fall so well. For now, all I’ve found out about it is that it was at Wal-Mart, and had an “Exclusive Flavor” tag on it. Get you some folks as I can’t tell you anymore. Mr’ Internet is quiet about this gem of the ice cream world.

  1. I need to find this flavor.

      • Porter
      • October 18th, 2010

      It was a really odd find too. This was in a Walmart in Hooksett New Hampshire of all places. I found just a couple pints of the stuff lurking in the freezer like they had almost been put in there by accident. It was a very tasty accident.

  2. Porter, I actually called both B&J to confirm that it was a walmart exlcusive, then called my local walmart to check if they were getting it…which they are! Thanks for the review. Really glad I found your site, tons of great stuff.

    • sophia
    • November 1st, 2010

    OMG!!!! just bought this flavor (ran into it by accident). This carrot cake icecream is the bomb. It tastes like am eating a piece of homemade carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. Am on a mission to find pumpkin cheese cake. I do not know how I miss that flavor.

    • Jerry
    • September 6th, 2011

    Wow. This ice cream is incredible. I have always loved carrot cake, and I am very picky about ice cream. (Mint Chocolate Chip is the only flavor I’ll eat.)But when I came across this at th eGrocery Outlet, I just knew it’d be wonderful. I came across this website trying to find out how long the ice cream would be out for…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

