Review: Ben & Jerry’s Limited Edition Pumpkin Cheesecake

So, if you can’t tell by the picture to the left, this limited edition Ben & Jerry’s flavor that I found along with the Exclusive Carrot Cake flavor is a returning contender to the seasonal lineup of ice cream in the freezer.

I don’t remember seeing this flavor before, but seeing it now, I was knocked out by the one two punch of pumpkin and cheesecake in the name. I simply couldn’t leave Walmart without a pint of this ice cream to try.

So, what are we talking here with this ice cream. It’s a pretty directed flavor as people usually either love or hate the pumpkin onslaught this time of year, and the same split exists on cheesecake in general. Both are flavors that simply aren’t for everyone.

Well, digging into this flavor, I was no blown away by pumpkin flavor like I have been with some other seasonal pumpkin items. Still, it’s worth noting that I don’t think this flavor is meant to be overwhelmingly pumpkiny. Instead, Ben & Jerry’s managed to walk a fine line, and truly create  a pumpkin cheesecake combination. You get the spice, and nutmeg that characterize pumpkin flavored treats, but it’s tempered by the mild tang of the cheesecake. It has worked for me in actual pumpkin cheesecake, so I’m not surprised to see it work in an ice cream. I mean, what goes better with pumpkin than a cream cheese based flavor? Nothing in my mind.

The other component that keeps to the Ben & Jerry’s formula is the graham cracker swirl. It mixes the texture up just enough as well as adds some variety to a strong note of flavor like pumpkin cheesecake. Overall, the flavor isn’t my favorite, but still comes together perfectly as a whole. I wouldn’t change a thing, but this is definitely just right as a seasonal treat instead of a staple flavor in the Ben & Jerry’s lineup.

  1. April 9th, 2011

Leave a Reply

