Review: Edy’s Limited Edition Pumpkin Pie

Okay folks, this one is winding down the Fall seasonal foods we’ve been seeing. Seriously, I walked into my grocery store the other day, and not only is the section gone, it has been completely replaced by Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, I love the holidays, but isn’t there something involving a turkey between now, and when the fat man in a red suit visits? Anyways, to the ice cream…

So, if you haven’t guessed by now, I like ice cream…not to mention seasonal flavors like Pumpkin. What I don’t like is Frozen Dairy Dessert. Now I’m not normally a texture based eater, but for this review, I need to split my thoughts between the two.

We’ll start with flavor. Here is where Edy’s has it pegged. Every bite of this limited edition flavor tastes like cool pumpkin pie with whipped cream. It’s almost freaky how well they captured the flavor here. It’s not some fake substitute; you could put this in a pie crust and I would be happy *Files idea away to try later*. The only problem that keeps this ice cream from perfection is…

The texture. Edy’s, just like I can’t figure out how you so perfectly captured the essence of pumpkin pie, I can’t figure out how you created the weird elastic like consistency of your treat. This isn’t just a problem with this flavor, but Edy’s in general. Their desserts are now more like frozen Cool-Whip than ice cream. I know they no longer advertise as ice cream, but I want Ice Cream!!!

Okay, taking a chill pill. It’s just a bummer how much the weird elastic goo bothers me. Edy’s used to make good ice cream. Now they just make good taste with weird texture. Oh well. Here’s hoping we get some more seasonal Ben and Jerry’s this Christmas season so we can really rock some quality flavors.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

